Wedding Blues.

I wanted to work on dialogue in my short stories but unfortunately, a micro-fiction story is all I can manage right now. I sprained my left elbow pretty bad over the weekend. My whole arm is swollen up so it is wrapped in a crepe bandage and in a sling. Typing with one hand is not as easy as I expected. It takes me twice the amount of time to write a story. Anyway, this story was inspired by this picture I took at my cousin’s after-party held just for her closest friends and family. I hope you enjoy reading the story.

***

It was like a fantasy, a world envisioned by two souls. The inn was decorated with lights and summer flowers wrapped around the estate. Large, white tents were erected for guests to enjoy dinner beneath the starry night sky. Along with the summer breeze, love was in the air. Even the companionless flirted with their eyes, trying to find a potential mate.

A lone figure stood on a balcony overlooking a terraced garden with a cigarette between her fingers. Clarissa inhaled the smoke to ease the nerves before exhaling it all out. The French doors opened and shut as one of the groomsmen entered the balcony.

“You okay?” Abel asked, standing next to her, enjoying the view of the breathtaking landscape below.

“Yeah,” Clarissa answered, offering a puff as they watched the guests settle into their seats.

“I thought you quit smoking,” Abel turned to look at her with concern before passing the cigarette back. Clarissa didn’t answer and kept her gaze fixed on the horizon. The sky was painted in brush strokes of red as the sun set beyond the undulating hills.

“Want to hear something stupid, Abel?” Clarissa asked, looking into his hazel eyes. “I miss him. I miss Connor even after everything we went through,” She said as stoically as possible. She didn’t want Abel to hear the tremble in her voice or the ache behind it. It was a feeling that tormented her for months. Saying it out loud made it real as if one were breathing life into it.

“Tell me, what do you miss about him?” Abel asked, lighting a cigarette before fixing her with a gaze that stared into her soul.

Clarissa stopped to think for a moment to get her thoughts in order. There was so much to say, but she didn’t know where to begin. Clarissa cleared her throat as she summoned the courage to voice the aching feeling that intensified as the wedding grew closer.

“He made me feel safe, especially when I was most vulnerable. I bared my soul to him, even the ugliest parts, and he still looked at me like I was the only person in the room,” Clarissa wanted to say more, but she choked on her words. Instead, she took a drag and hoped Abel didn’t notice the tears that threatened to spill over.

“Why didn’t you say anything, Clarissa? I thought you guys weren’t even that serious because that’s not how I remember the two of you. I hate to say this, but you and Connor were like oil and water,” Abel said after a pause.

“I didn’t say anything because I was afraid. I was scared that if I spoke about it, it would jinx the relationship. But it doesn’t matter now. I messed up and lost Connor anyway.”

Abel remained silent. She could see the gears in his head turning as he thought of a proper response. He killed his cigarette on the ashtray and leaned against the balcony railing.

“I hope you don’t mind me saying this, but is it possible you’re romanticising a failed relationship because you’re lonely?” Abel said with a straight face. His words hit like a lightning bolt. It hurt. Looking back, all Clarissa could remember were the happy memories. The ugly moments, however, she could vaguely recall. It was like a fog. The longing inside widened into a chasm as the memories played like a tape recorder. Loneliness was like a disease. It ate you up from the inside and made you desperate for human connection. It made people search for love, even in relationships that were nothing more than ashes.

The silence between them was loud. Abel was right, but she didn’t dare admit it out loud. Having been friends for so long, Clarissa hoped Abel understood her response.

“Being the only single bridesmaid got to you. Didn’t it?” Abel said quietly.

“Being surrounded by couples all the time made me feel like I was missing out,” Clarissa admitted, extinguishing her cigarette on the ashtray. “As much as I love being independent, the feeling of being loved and having someone just be there for you is incomparable. Once you’ve experienced it, whether you like it or not, there will be moments where you can’t help but yearn for it.”

“You have me,” Abel said, nudging her elbow. A faint smile broke the seriousness on her face.

“And I’ll always be grateful for that,” Clarissa squeezed his arm.

“Look, I can’t pretend I know everything about love, but looking for love in the past is not the answer. I know it’s very comforting to slip back into something familiar. I’ve done it many times, but it’s not worth it. It’ll just leave you even more hallowed out than before.”

Clarissa remained quiet. It was one of those few moments Abel showed any signs of vulnerability. He gave her a sad smile before ending his little monologue.

“If there’s one thing you can trust on its timing. When the time’s right, you’ll find that person, my friend.”

“You make it sound like this person will magically fall from the sky at the right moment.”

“Is that so bad?” Abel asked.

Clarissa paused for a moment before shaking her head. The crowd below got denser. Abel turned around and spotted the decorated white car driving towards the inn with its headlights on.

“Come on, let’s head downstairs and resume our duties. The newlyweds are here,” Abel held out his arm, and Clarissa took it. They descended the winding stairs just in time to welcome their friends. With their conversation on pause for the night, they celebrated their friends’ union with laughter and dance.

13 thoughts on “Wedding Blues.

  1. Phil Huston says:

    Good story. If you really want to write dialogue I suggest two things. Try to avoid explaining it, and listen to your characters. Don’t clean them up or think for them. If they say what they mean all the extra head time and author time is unnecessary. “The part of the writing process that I fret is getting the sound without some mechanics that would direct the reader’s attention to the sound. One way is not to use adverbs to describe how someone says something. I try to work the dialogue down so the reader has to hear it.” – Toni Morrison I don’t post links on other’s sites, but if you’d like the link to that interview, respond with a “send it”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment